After a serious car collision, you probably are aware that one of the first steps you should take is to call 9-1-1 in order to report the accident. By doing so, police officers and emergency medical personnel can arrive at the scene and assess the health and safety of everyone involved and allow both drivers and potential witnesses to provide statements about how the crash occurred.
But, what should you do after a minor car accident, such as a fender bender, rear-end collision, or sideswipe? Are you still required to call the police? Our Nashville car accident attorneys explain the car accident reporting laws in Tennessee below.
Car Accident Reporting Laws in Tennessee
In Tennessee, you are not required to report a minor car accident that causes no injuries or very minor property damage. This means that you are required to report any other type of accident that results in personal injury, death, or property damage that exceeds $400 for state or government property or $1,500 for a person’s property.
You also have 20 days from the date of the accident to report the incident to the Tennessee State Department of Safety and Homeland Security. Once the accident is reported to law enforcement, you and your attorney can request a copy of the crash report. This will be used as evidence to build a solid car accident claim on your behalf later on.
Why It’s In Your Best Interest to File a Report
While you may not be required to report certain car accidents according to Tennessee law, we cannot stress enough the importance of doing so. Think about a scenario where you are hit by another driver in a seemingly minor car collision. You feel sore and scared after the fact, but you don’t necessarily feel injured, so you simply exchange information and part ways.
A few days later, you experience recurring headaches and debilitating pain in your neck. After a visit to the doctor, you discover that you sustained a concussion and whiplash in the accident—two conditions that are notorious for exhibiting late-onset symptoms.
However, since you didn’t report the accident or get medical treatment immediately after the accident, the at-fault driver’s insurance company claims that there is insufficient evidence linking your injuries to the accident and denies your claim. Ultimately, reporting an accident can provide you with protection and security in the event that you need future medical bills paid for.
Building a Solid Claim on Your Behalf
There really is no such thing as a “minor” accident, as even rear-end collisions are enough to cause life-altering or debilitating injuries that impact one’s daily life or require medical treatment. If you are ever injured in an accident, no matter the circumstances, we urge you to contact our Nashville car accident attorneys right away to learn more about your potential legal rights.
Remember, the insurance company’s job is to maximize its profits by denying or devaluing even valid claims. By choosing our firm to represent you, you choose dedicated legal advocates who will stop at nothing to get you the compensation and justice that you deserve.
Contact our firm at (615) 697-6503 to get started with a free case review!